About OTR

Off the Record is the longest running women's foreign policy lecture forum in the United States. Created in 1938 under the aegis of the Foreign Policy Association, OTR enables our 500+ members and their guests to hear and to question renowned foreign policy leaders and thinkers on a regular basis. OTR is a non-profit, non-partisan organization. As the name Off the Record suggests, lectures may not be recorded or reported.


The Founding of FPA and of OTR

In 1918, the Foreign Policy Association was founded as the League of Free Nations Association. Formed by 141 distinguished Americans to support President Woodrow Wilson’s peace efforts, the Association was reconstituted in 1923 as the Foreign Policy Association. John Foster Dulles and Eleanor Roosevelt were among the founders.

OTR was created in 1938 by 19 prominent women, including Eleanor Robson Belmont (later known as Mrs. August Belmont), to give women a greater voice in foreign policy discussions. OTR was founded as a series of lectures solely for women, to be conducted in smaller, more intimate groups and "off the record,” so that speakers would not be quoted in the press.

Board of Governors

Chair - Kay Maxwell
Vice Chair - Beatrice Mitchell
Secretary - Maryann Sudo
Treasurer - Hope Tate

Katja Wiesbrock Donovan

Bridget Foley

Ivy Fredericks

Celeste Ford

Courtney Katzenstein

Ann Korelitz

Victoria Larson

Elizabeth Littlefield

Anne Louvel

Andrea Mlynarova, Ph.D.

Janet Olshansky

Cynthia Ogden

Jane Ross

Jennifer Siebens

Barbara Madsen Smith

Susan Walsh

Sarah Miles Williams

Janie Woo

Midge Woolsey

Marilyn Wyatt, Ph.D.

Young Patrons Council

Sarah Byun

Jonathan Cristol, Ph.D.

Bree Dyer

Joshua Fjelstad - Co-Chair

Teagan Judd

Michael LeVine, Ph.D.

Noelle Pourrat - Co-Chair

Abdallah Zihni

Past Chairs

Elinor Miner Lamont: 1946-1948

Mary Hand Darrell: 1948-1961

Mildred Adams Kenyon: 1961-1970

Elizabeth French Hitchcock: 1970-1976

Doris C. Halaby: 1976-1979

Mary L. Belknap: 1979-1983

Grace "Gay" Sloane Vance: 1983-1987

Donna Dillon Manning: 1987-1991

Judith L. Biggs: 1991-1995

Jacqueline M. Garrett: 1995-1997

Anne Sitrick: 1997-2003

Ann J. Charters: 2003-2008

Jacqueline Adams: 2008-2010

Wendy E. Dietze: 2010-2012

Rory Hayden: 2012-2014

Nadia S. Malik: 2014-2018

Bridget Foley 2018-2020